For me, picking a major in college was no easy task. I have spent the majority of my time at The Ohio State University pondering who I am, what I am good at, and where I want to end up in life. The possibilities overwhelmed me; after all, choosing a career path is such an important part of young adult life.

 

I changed my major more times than I’d like to admit. I went from studying English, to Social Work, German, and finally Strategic Communication. I had always seen myself as a talented communicator and figured that it would ensure me a steady, high-paying job. I did not expect to find the content of this major interesting, however, the more classes I took, the more I enjoyed what I was learning. It soon became clear to me that I had made the appropriate choice. I now see how much creativity, reflection, and innovative thinking it takes to lead an effective Public Relations campaign.

 

As a person who wishes to join the Public Relations field in the new future, I have recently realized the importance of reflecting on communication in today’s society. In this blog, I will relay my thoughts on advertising, communication technology, social media, and other various topics relevant to communication that pique my interest. I hope to use this blog to expand my understanding of this vastly interesting subject.

